Skip to main content

Alberta MPs Visit the University of Alberta

This morning, Mike joined fellow Alberta Members of Parliament Ziad Aboultaif (Edmonton Manning), Matt Jeneroux (Edmonton Riverbend), Kerry Diotte (Edmonton Griesbach), and Arnold Viersen (Peace River-Westlock) for a meeting with University of Alberta President, David Turpin, followed by a tour of the U of A’s Mechanical Engineering Building.

Researcher Dr. Amit Kumar showed off his world-leading work on the techno-economic assessment of bioenergy systems for biopower and biofuels, including large scale biomass transport and logistics such as pipeline transport of biomass. Dr. Kumar’s research includes economic, environmental and technological assessments to help policy-makers discover the best use of energy, while minimizing the environmental impacts.